• POPSHIFT
  • Posts
  • Moving in, Before Marriage? (What?)

Moving in, Before Marriage? (What?)

Don 3 has big shoes to fill, a new documentary about AP Dhillon, and big conversations.

Moving in before marriage? Not if you're brown...This week we unpack what it’s like to tackle the complicated topic of living with your partner before the wedding. Shahrukh Khan is not returning for Don 3, Guess who is replacing him! AP Dhillon’s Amazon Prime documentary vows to tell you more about the man we know little about.

— Rumneek

Moving In, Before Marriage?

I’m months away from my wedding and the conundrum I’ve been dealing with for the last year has been trying to get my parents on board with me living with my fiancé before we get married.

For clarification—I am a 27-year-old woman—but age is never important as brown parents will forever see you as a child until I get married.

In fact, I probably could have gotten married several years ago and my parents would have been more okay with me leaving the family home so long as there was public knowledge of my nuptials.

But doing so even at my big age without the cultural currency of a wedding still feels taboo.

And I know I’m not alone in this.

But for god’s sake—it’s 2023, y’all.

We really can’t continue to let other people’s perceptions police the way we live, especially considering it has led our parent’s generation to live their entire lives in fear of what other people may say.

I’ve tried to reason with my parents, to explain that the only way to truly get to know someone before undertaking the life-changing step of a marriage is to live with them.

To no avail. Their greatest fear is the prospect that other people may find out and get to talking.

I’m sure they have their reasons, including the fact that a rebellious daughter is much more of a hazard to a family’s perception than a rebellious son, or the weird concepts of shame and honor in the South Asian community, or that a wedding is a one-way ticket into adulthood (irrespective of your personal maturity level).

However, I for one, think it’s time to let go of the archaic ideals, and I’ve pushed back every step of the way. My fiance and I got a dog together, I started staying over more often, we began building our life and routines together and basically living together without actually living together.

It feels so bizarre that after your wedding you go from your family home to your partner’s home quite literally overnight and this is what is seen as normal.

Why are we still expected to adhere to cultural norms that aren’t relevant? Why is trying to live with someone before scaling up the commitment considered living in sin?

I mean, we spend tens if not hundreds of thousands of dollars on a wedding but it’s wrong to want a trial run on the marriage beforehand?!

Are your parents pro living together before marriage?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

A New Era of Don Is Here

The successful Bollywood film franchise of Don is back, but not with the cast that audiences expected.

The "Don" franchise began with the 1978 film of the same name, which starred Amitabh Bachchan in the titular role. The modern-day franchise, rebooted in 2006 by Farhan Akhtar, starred Shah Rukh Khan as the main protagonist, Don, a cunning criminal mastermind.

The franchise's significance lies in its successful blend of classic and contemporary elements, its impact on modernizing Indian cinema, and its role in showcasing the prowess of Shah Rukh Khan as India’s James Bond.

Farhan Akhtar’s recent announcement of Don 3 follows 12 years since the last instalment, “Don 2”.

Rumors suggest that Kiara Advani will be taking on the role of Don’s love interest and enemy, Roma, previously played by Zeenat Aman in 1978, and then Priyanka Chopra in 2006 and 2011.

At first, netizens expressed their dismay at the exclusion of SRK in the sequel, but an official announcement and teaser confirmed that the next instalment will feature today’s Bollywood heartthrob, Ranveer Singh.

Despite all the conjectures, one thing is certain, Ranveer Singh taking on Don’s legacy next destines him to follow the steps of the previous reigning Bollywood Kings who held this role.

Are you happy with this cast change?

📣 Other News:

Listen to the PopShift Playlist on Spotify.

Written/Edited by: Rumneek Johal

Join the conversation

or to participate.